Wayne and Christina

Addenda and Corrigenda to
The J.R.R. Tolkien Companion and Guide
Revised and Enlarged Edition (2017)

by Christina Scull and Wayne G. Hammond

The second edition of The J.R.R. Tolkien Companion and Guide retained the Chronology as a single volume (Vol. I), and expanded the Reader’s Guide from one to two volumes (Vols. II, III). In order to balance the resulting three volumes in length as much as possible, we relocated the appended matter originally in the Chronology (family trees, bibliographies of Tolkien’s works) to the second volume of the Reader’s Guide, and included our bibliography of works consulted only in the Reader’s Guide. Because our publisher wished to sell the three volumes separately as well as in a boxed set, we included the foreword and index in both the Chronology and the Reader’s Guide (the first or second volume as appropriate).

Elsewhere on this site may be read addenda and corrigenda to the chronology, addenda and corrigenda to the reader’s guide, a list of topics in the Reader’s Guide, and a supplemental bibliography for the new edition.

In addition to those whom we acknowledge in our revised preface, we would like to thank for their comments and suggestions Stefan Borgschulze, Janet Brennan Croft, Michael Flowers, Colin Harper, Phil Mathison, and ‘naturesfocus’.

[ go to home page ]
[ go to addenda and corrigenda page ]

Copyright © 2018 by Wayne G. Hammond & Christina Scull
This page was last updated on 16 September 2018
Design by NimbleFingers